Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > General Topics > The Pub

The Pub For General Automotive Related Talk

Old 22-12-2005, 11:59 PM   #1
GTS_300_Coupe
Mandy Moore FTW!

Default Police Powers And Your Rights, What You Need to Know!!!

READ THIS FIRST!!!

DISCLAIMER:

Seeing as I had to open my big mouth, I'm going to try and compile a list of police powers and drivers rights. Will try to keep it as up-to-date and accurate as possible, but am not holding this information out as being reliable, and will not be liable for anything that results from using this information. I don't want to leave myself open to being sued for trying to help someone out (as I'm sure you can all understand).

I studied police power and procedure a couple years ago, and hopefully still have something lying around that may come in useful...

I will also have to find out if different States operate differently, and will try to start with my own State (qld) and work my way out. Will start with the basics, e.g. what you are entitled to tell police and do for them, what to look out for, and when to ask for a lawyer (which really puts the ***** up em!)

Bear in mind, I'm not trying to train you all up to give police a hard time, just let you all know what your rights are, and put an end to the abuse of police power that occurs all too often.

If you have any questions, or have interactions with a police officer that you want to explore with me, feel free to post in here.

GTS_300_Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-12-2005, 12:16 AM   #2
GTS_300_Coupe
Mandy Moore FTW!

QLD MEMBERS:

"Police Powers and Responsibilities Act 2000" seems to be a good place to look if you're in QLD: Link to the file should be attached to this posting.

Section 29 - Searching vehicles without warrant

Section 30 - Prescribed circumstances for searching vehicle without warrant